08 September 2017

HIE helps businesses get Cyber Strong

Cyber Week

Coinciding with Digital Leaders Cyber Resilience Week (11-15 September), Highlands and Islands Enterprise is launching a programme to help local businesses and social enterprises achieve national Cyber Essentials accreditation.

The industry and government recognised certification scheme helps businesses minimise the risk of a cyber attack, and demonstrates that they are taking the measures needed to protect themselves and their client data.

The HIE project will provide clients with a one day intensive workshop, 1-2-1 support from a digital adviser to develop a cyber resilience plan and the agency will reimburse successful businesses achieving the accreditation.

The workshops are kicking off on Monday (11 September) in Orkney, then in Shetland and Inverness the same week. They will continue across Highland, Moray, the Western Isles and in Argyll on various dates until mid November. (See list below)

Stuart Robertson, Head of Digital at HIE said: “All businesses are a potential target for an attack, particularly if they don’t take basic precautionary measures to protect themselves.

“Cyber criminals constantly scan websites, systems and devices to look for vulnerabilities, and any business that relies on computerised systems for payroll, marketing via social media or a website, or who have booking systems with databases of customer details can have information valuable to a criminal.

Events are taking place in the following areas:

  • Monday 11th September – Orkney
  • Tuesday 12th September – Shetland
  • Friday 15th September – Inverness
  • Tuesday 19th September – Moray
  • Thursday 21st September – Skye
  • Tuesday 10th October – Fort William
  • Wednesday 11th October – Dunoon
  • Tuesday 24th October – Poolewe
  • Thursday 26th October – Stornoway
  • Tuesday 7th November – Thurso
  • Tuesday 14th November – Golspie

Businesses and social enterprises working with HIE who are interested in being involved should get in touch with their HIE account managers, or local area office. Cyber Strong is one of a cohort of projects for 2017 based in Scotland which are part-funded by the UK’s National Cyber Security Strategy Programme